2016 Spring Election County Board Candidates
Bring it to the Ballot - Voter Photo ID Law
County Directory (PDF)
County Board Supervisor Districts
Timber Cutting Form
Tax Deeded Parcels for Sale
You are here:
Domestic Partnership Applications
Effective August 3, 2009, domestic partnership applications will be available at:
County Clerk’s Office
Kenosha County Administration Building
1010 56th St.
8:00 am - 4:30 pm,
Monday - Friday.
Fee: $80.00 cash only, paid at the time of application (no checks, debit or credit cards).
Domestic Partnership Requirements
Applicants must meet the following requirements:
Both parties must be at least 18 years of age and must be competent.
Neither party may be married or currently in a legal Wisconsin domestic partnership with another party.
The parties must share a common residence.
The parties must be of the same sex.
The parties cannot be closer in relationship than second cousins (even if they are related by adoption or by half-blood). (Wisconsin §770.05).
Applicants must apply in person at the County Clerk’s office in the county in which one or both of the parties have resided for the last 30 days immediately prior to the application. Five days after the application is made, the County Clerk issues the Declaration.
There is a 90 day waiting period between the termination of one domestic partnership and application for another domestic partnership. There is no waiting period between the death of a domestic partner or a divorce, annulment or death from a former spouse.
Documents & Requirements
Applicants must apply in person and together. The individuals must be members of the same sex.
Each applicant must bring in the following documents:
Certified copy of birth certificates.
Certified copies are issued by the state or county in which one is born. Applicants cannot use a photocopy of a certified copy of a birth certificate, a hospital souvenir birth record or a notification of registration of birth record.
Current (non-expired) photo identification.
State issued un-expired Driver’s License, State ID or Resident Alien ID
Proof of residency.
If the photo ID does have the current address, the applicant can bring in a dated utility bill or government correspondence addressed to the applicant (by name) with the applicant’s street address. At least one individual must show proof of residency for at least 30 days (immediately prior to the date of application) in the county of application.
Proof of how last domestic partnership or marriage ended.
If an applicant was in a prior legal domestic partnership in Wisconsin (filed under the provisions of the 2009 Domestic Partnership Law, Wisconsin §770.05) or if an applicant was previously married, the applicant must supply documentary evidence of how the last legal domestic partnership or marriage ended. A certified death certificate, certificate of termination of domestic partnership or a divorce judgment that shows the court file stamp and judge’s signature.
Both individuals must provide social security numbers.
Five days after the application is made, the County Clerk issues the declaration to the partners. The partners complete the declaration of domestic partnership, signing it before the County Clerk or Deputy County Clerk or a notary. The partners then file the completed declaration with the Register of Deeds in the county that issued the declaration. There is no time limit for filing the declaration after it has been issued. However, the domestic partnership does not go into effect until the date the declaration is accepted and filed at the Register of Deeds office. The Register of Deeds records the declaration and forwards the original to the State Registrar of Vital Statistics.
If the partners need to show proof of the domestic partnership, they may purchase certified copies of the declaration from the Register of Deeds or from the State Vital Records Office.
Powered by CivicPlus